Basic Training Excerpt: 14JUN15

Excerpt from Basic Training:

14JUNE15

Dear God,

Three emotions: Tired , Peaceful, Actually, let’s just leave it at two. I’ll start with tired. I’ve been so sick lately and my body has had so many different problems, no sleep and I’ve lost 10-15 pounds already. I’m just exhausted but honestly, that’s really minor compared to the peace you’ve given me. The amount of times you’ve answered my prayers is crazy. Tonights dinner situation blew my mind, which it shouldn’t have admittedly. I get in line for chow and not knowing what we could be eating, I prayed for your blessing and for you to provide me with my favorite choices since we aren’t allowed to choose. So I prayed for you to give me the best and I decided that even if I didn’t get what I wanted, I would trust that you would give me what’s best for me. So I got to the food and I got served everything I didn’t want, but I thought, “Hey, that’s fine because I prayed and am trusting you.” I go sit down and so did a bunch of others, then randomly someone like six people down said, “Hey, Huffman! You want to switch plants?” I looked at what he had and it was everything I wanted! Thank you so much for providing to me all ways. It’s seriously overwhelming. Thank you. Love you so much!

 

 

Oh yeah, and just a few days ago our drill sergeant was super mad at us and told us he was going to kill us that night and keep us up all night working out constantly, and that some of us would quit for sure. So obviously I prayed to you and you told me to just trust you no matter what, so I did. Well we got back to our rooms at midnight and our drill sergeant puts us on the line to smoke us all night. I remembered to trust you, so I did. He leaves us for 15 minutes. We are stuck on the line silent and at the position of attention until he gets back. As soon as he got back, he said, “You’re lucky. The battalion commander won’t let me smoke you all night. Get to your bunk now!” Again, I was just overwhelmed by you again. I would write more pages, but I’m going to read now. Love you, goodnight!

 

 

 

Psalm 56:4
I praise God for what he has promised.
I trust in God, so why should I be afraid?
What can mere mortals do to me?
everything.
One thought on “Basic Training Excerpt: 14JUN15

What's on your mind?

