You

Timothy 2:1-2

my dear son, be strong through the grace that God gives you in Christ Jesus. You have heard me teach things that have been confirmed by many reliable witnesses. Now teach these truths to other trustworthy people who will be able to pass them on to others.

Why does this mean to you, what does this mean to me?

I sit here and wonder what would give me, you, or anybody, the right and position to share our insights of the bible, God’s Word, with anybody? Fact is, I’m a sinner. I don’t follow God’s Word perfectly in my own life, actually, I don’t even come close to it. I don’t think anybody does. I feel like I should place myself in the position that I am always learning God’s Word and will never be ready to actually teach God’s Word. There’s just so much to learn and in this life time I’ll never fully understand God’s Word.

What will ever make me qualified to teach His Word?

The answer, God’s grace. I’ve found and seen that where we are weakest gives way for God’s grace to be strongest. Where God’s grace is, becomes where we are strongest. That’s more than just a pick me up cliche. It’s a true statement that is even backed by evidence in Scripture.

  • Abraham and Sarah couldn’t bear children. Abraham became the father of many nations (Genesis 17:5)
  • David was a small shepard boy, youngest of the family, not a soldier. He took the giant Goliath (1st Samuel 17)
  • Moses left Egypt abandoned by himself. He stuttered and was afraid to speak. He lead the Israelites (Exodus)
  • Paul hated Christians and killed them for a living. Now responsible for writing most of the New Testament (New Testament)

Those are just a few examples. Sometimes when I look at biblical examples, I can’t help but think ‘well that’s nice, but those are biblical examples. What about now in today’s age? Where is His grace making us strong?’ This answer is just as obvious. I look to my leaders.

Who is the one leading that alcoholic ministry? A former alcoholic. Who is the one that is leading that financial class? The one who was formerly broke and bankrupted. Who is the one that is leading that sexual purity ministry? One who use to be addicted to sexual immorality. The list goes on. You might even find that your pastor, or the person who has the best relationship with God, was once the furthest from God, but because of God’s grace they’ve felt His love and that inspires them to Him.

The area in which they struggled, God’s grace now resigns. Because of their struggle, they have a heart for those struggling in the same area and because they struggled, they understand the hurt and pain more than anyone else. God gave them grace and freed them from their struggle, and now they are able to help others.

It’s hard to feel qualified to share God’s message with others. It’s easy to feel like a hypocrite. To feel like you’re not worthy to add anything to the discussion of God. But you’ve been covered by God’s grace. Let His grace guide you. God has a purpose for each and everyone of us but we need to start by accepting His grace into our life. His death paid for your sins.

Pass on the grace that God has shown you to others. Pass it on, so that others may also pass it on. Let guide reside in your weaknesses.

2 Timothy 2:13

if we are faithless, He remains faithful for He cannot deny Himself.

Matthew 16:24

Then said Jesus unto His disciples, “If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up the cross and follow me.”

What's on your mind?

