Are You Consistent in Character?

Romans 12:2

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

All day long I’ve been looking forward to writing a post. This morning I was super inspired and came up with a whole bunch of ideas and topics I wanted to explore, but a few hours ago when I finally went to write, I lost all motivation. I couldn’t even get myself to write down the few words that I had started from my notebook. So I decided to watch Captain America: The Winter Soldier instead, by the way it’s a great movie! Then I went to try to write again, I couldn’t.. So with my buddies, I started to watch the movie “The Hornets Nest” because one of our drill sergeants happens to be in that documentary. I was hooked within 10 minutes. All of a sudden everything that we have been training for the past few months came alive. I saw all our training exercises come alive in real life scenarios! But in the back of my mind I felt God tugging at me. I could hear the thoughts “you have limited time, and you’re going to spend it watching movies instead of digging into the Word?” It convicted me enough to the point where I told my friends I would have to watch it later and I was going to my room to read the bible. I happen to open straight up to Romans 12:2 and it inspired me.

One of my thoughts earlier today was, “I’m not interested in how you act around Christians, how you act in church.. I am interested in how you act in the world.”

Something I have noticed is how differently people act in Church verses how they act in the world. In Church they act so ‘high,’ they constantly speak praises about God, and simply they try to act as spiritually ‘cool’ as possible. And that is absolutely great! I love seeing people excited about God, I love seeing people act pure, I love seeing people praising the Lord! It inspires me! But then it gets confusing, cause we can see the same people out in the world and you would never know it’s the same person. How can you seek Jesus so much in Church and within Christian social groups, but once in the world, there’s no trace of Jesus in you? I’m guilty of this.

In Church this morning we were talking about Enoch. He’s mentioned in the bible twice, once in Genesis 5:23-24, and once in Hebrews 11:5. All we really know about Enoch is that he was faithful, and that God took him from earth. The first point our leader(I’m not sure if he is a pastor or not) made about Enoch is that “He is consistent in his path.” It got me thinking, how are we consistent in life? How can we be consistent in life? What does consistency look like? I think it starts with thanks. In hard times, in good times, no matter where you are at, no matter what happens, you can always give thanks.

Every once in a while I will challenge myself, or my friends, to only pray for thanks all day. Even when you get cut off in traffic, even when you get behind at work, even when your car won’t start, when you stub your toe, make it your first reaction to give thanks. In every situation there is always something to be thankful for, you just have to find it. When you do find it, you’ll find more joy throughout your day, and with that joy comes a loving attitude, and with love comes the sharing of Christ to others.

One of my favorite bible passages is Romans 8:28

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

It doesn’t matter the circumstance, God can work through it for good.

Challenge yourself on how you can be more consistent in your life. How does your character different from when you are within the Church, to when you are within the world?

I just want to leave with one more thought that I may expand on later: Being Christian is not about being comfortable. Comfortability leads to being lukewarm, and as it says in Revelation 3:16

So, because you are lukewarm–neither hot nor cold–I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

Be consistent. Be uncomfortable. Be faithful.

What's on your mind?

