Pursuing Too Much

Be Still and Know that I am God

Something I’ve found interesting is how quickly we can get so excited for a change or something new, but just as quickly that same excitement can die out. For example recently the web is ablaze about iOS 7 (for those that don’t know it’s Apples newest operating system on their ‘i’ devices), but in just a few short days it will be like nothing happened. But what I am talking about is not always about smaller details of life, but of the larger things. Such as finding a new hobby, a new job, a new major in school, a pay raise, a new workout program, a new computer. In our minds we get wrapped up in how these things are going to better our life, we get so excited. But like our new years resolutions, our excitement dies out. Eventually we get dissatisfied and want more, again.

Why do we get bored with the things we were once so excited about? Everything becomes like dust in the wind, it all just becomes lost in our vast world.

When reflecting upon it, it gives me a feeling of apathy. Why invest so hard in all these things, if I will eventually loose interest.

Why am I never satisfied. To take that question one step further, Why am I never satisfied with all the idols I create in my life? Would you agree that you do the same?

Maybe you’ve found something that you’ve been passionately pursuing for a while, and haven’t gotten bored with it, if so, great! Good for you.

But as for me, I know I’ve created many idols in my life, all competing for my heart.

Looking to the bible for some guidance, I found:

Micah 5:13

I will destroy all your idols and sacred pillars, so you will never again worship the work of your own hands.

Genesis 11:4,7

Then they said, “Come, let us build ourselves a city, with a tower that reaches to the heavens, so that we may make a name for ourselves; otherwise we will be scattered over the face of the whole earth.”

Come, let us go down and confuse their language so they will not understand each other.”

So is God causing this lack of interest in my heart because He wants to stop me from pursuing a passion of mine so that I don’t worship them over Him? Does God only want me to worship Him, not allowing me to pursue any skills that I might actually be able to make a name for myself with? Can I not do anything for myself, does everything have to be for God? What if I am pursuing other passions to help share Christ’s name?

No, I don’t actually think that is the case. I have no doubt God wants us to pursue our passions. But then, what is the problem? I believe it has to do pursuing them so much, so desperately, they become an idol. When we try to let our earthly passions do to our hearts what only God can, we leave feeling empty inside. If you have ever binge watched a TV show , eventually you get to a point that you’ve seen so much of the show in such a short period of time, you just get bored with it and don’t want to watch it again.

I think that is the same case with everything else. Only God is big enough to hold all of your heart for all eternity. Everything else has to be limited so that you do not become overwhelmed with it or bored of it.

Take an hour out of your day to pursue a passion, but don’t let it consume you all day, everyday. It will leave you feeling empty quickly. That is the lesson I am learning day by day. To many passions just leave me overwhelmed.

Two great quotes from Steve Jobs to end this.

“What are the five products you want to focus on? Get rid of the rest, because they’re dragging you down. They’re turning you into Microsoft. They’re causing you to turn out products that are adequate but not great.”

“Focus is about saying no”

What's on your mind?

