Why I Choose Christianity

Life is full of choices that we have to make. One of the bigest questions is, do I want to be a christian and how religious to I want to get? As for me I choose to be a christian, and I want my actions to back it up completely! But why do I want to be a christian, why do I want to be different from everyone else? Let’s first look at when the term “christian” first came about.

Acts 11:26

and when he found him, he brought him to Antioch. So for a whole year Barnabas and Saul met with the church and taught great numbers of people. The disciples were called Christians first at Antioch.

With a little bit of background reading you will quickly see that these “disciples” or now “christians” located at Antioch because they fled there from being tortured because of their commitment to Christ. Also note that “ian” means supporter, so to be a christian is to be a supporter of Christ. To be christian is to be dedicated to Christ in all your ways.

Why I choose to be a Christian

  1. It’s not easy
  2. On my own, what am I
  3. It gives meaning to life
  4. It is rewarding

It’s not easy

I can not recall a time in my life where I took the easy route. If it comes easy, something isn’t right. It has becomes instilled in me to enjoy challenges. I love spending hours at a time trying to figure out a problem and work through it. To choose the easy life is, well, to easy. What’s the challenge in it? It’s to easy to go out drinking every night, to think sexual thoughts of every women, to gossip, and to be carefree. It’s to easy to do whatever you want, whenever you want. What fun is it to be chasing pleasures, to never be satisfied and always wanting more. The more you get, the more you want, where is the end to the road? Eventually, the easy road becomes the hard and risky road, where death is just waiting to snatch you.

I like being faced with difficult decisions every day. To say no. To say being faithful to my God means more to me than my desires. That’s the challenge, and that’s where the real fun comes!

On my own, what am I

Without Christ, I am just a sinner. As much as I like the challenges, I still give into temptation. I’m a failure that can’t do anything right. I stumble at everything I do, both inside and out side of religion. In short I am never good enough.  I can’t live up to the expectations of this world, I’ve tried and failed. Who can? We make so many mistakes everyday, it’s ridiculous. On top of that who has that perfect figure that is plastered all over the media? I am nothing compared to what the world wants me to be. The world tells me everyday that I can’t fit in, that it is impossible. On my own, I am nothing.

With Christ though, we are everything. It doesn’t matter how many times we trip and fall, it doesn’t matter that we don’t have the perfect figure, it doesn’t matter that we can’t fit to be what the world tells us to be. Christ tells us “I love you anyways” “I created you exactly the way you are” “I loved you so much, I died and suffered hell for you!” With Christ we are perfect! On my own, I am nothing, but with Christ I feel like a superhero!

It gives meaning to life

Let’s say God doesn’t exist, just pretend here. If God doesn’t exist what is the meaning to all this? What is our purpose? It is to die! It is to work hard for everything you have, and then just die. Die and be forgotten about, like dust in the wind. As Solomon says over and over again in Ecclesiastes, everything is meaningless without Christ. Everything you live for, dies when you die. The only point to live is to fulfill your desires while your live your short life. What else can you do, but satisfy yourself before you die. Life without Christ is depressing. People say christians use Christ to make themselves feel better. That all religion is, is a cooping mechanism for the week. I say Amen to that!

Christ changes everything. No longer do we have nothing to live for, we now have eternal life to live for. We have hope for something more than death. With Christ, we have a reason to live. I don’t know how anyone could live without Christ. Christ gives me meaning, Christ gives me life.

It is rewarding

Last, but not least, being a christian is rewarding! We are rewarded with having meaning to life, we are rewarding with knowing that there is some one out there that loves so much that He would die for us. It’s good to know that our mistakes don’t matter, we are not ment to live from our mistakes, but live for the grace that covers our mistakes! It is rewarding to know we have eternal life with our Heavenly Father to look forward to! To have someone always looking out for you, never leading you to places you can’t handle. To have someone with all power and knowledge on your side, what greater gift is that? What more can we ask for?

I choose to be a christian because it is hard, because I am weak, because I need something worth living for, and because I want eternal life. I am Christian because Christ loved me first, and He shows me His love in my life day after day. I am a Christian because I don’t deserve it, but it is a title I am going to live for with the help and grace of God!

What's on your mind?

