The Devils Deceptions

Blnguyen sleep
Blnguyen sleep (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Proverbs 3:23-24 (NIV)

Then you will go on your way in safety,
and your foot will not stumble.
When you lie down, you will not be afraid;
when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.

Proverbs 3:23-24 (KJV)

Then shalt thou walk in thy way safely, and thy foot shall not stumble.
When thou liest down, thou shalt not be afraid: yea, thou shalt lie down, and thy sleep shall be sweet.

Freedom from fear, freedom from stumbling, and sweet sleep, I’m down with that! Lord knows how much I life in fear, how much I stumble, and why I stay awake at night! I would love to be free from these deficients. Wisdom, Understanding, good Judgement, and Discretion is our way out of these problems. Let’s look at each problem individually.

Freedom From Fear

I’m afraid to admit it but fear tends to guide me. Fear limits us from exceeding our maximum potential. Fear keeps us from living our dreams. Fear is deadly, and when we live with fear we are putting our own understanding over our trust in Christ. I wish I could be fear from the bondage that fear has placed on me. The good news is that wisdom and understanding is said to keep us free from fear. The better news is, that I know this is true because I have seen it take place in my own life.  This past year my walk with Christ has improved greatly, I am a whole new person than who I used to be. As I have been studying His Word in more depth, my understanding and wisdom has increased. Wisdom and understanding have taught me how foolish it is to live in fear. Why do we fear such things when we have Christ on our side? Why let fear slow us down from our potential.

Luke 12: 27-28

Consider the lilies, how they grow: they toil not, neither do they spin; yet I say unto you, Even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God doth so clothe the grass in the field, which today is, and tomorrow is cast into the oven; how much more shall he clothe you, O ye of little faith?

Heres the deal, the Lord is always going to provide for us and give us our daily bread as long as we keep faith in Him. What do we have to worry about? The Lord is going to carry us.

There is a benefit from fear. Fear can be the devil trying to stop you from doing God’s work. If you had the power of the devil and you knew someone had the power to do something that was greatly going to benefit the kingdom of God, how would you stop this person if you can’t physically stop them? Fear! It’s the greatest human deterrent. If there is something you are passionate about doing, but fear is stopping you, ask yourself if that fear is the devil attempting to stop you from doing something great! Chances are, it is. Take that leap of faith, and trust the Lord will catch you and carry you through!

Freedom From Stumbling

My walk with Christ is far from perfect. I strive to the best of my ability to walk the walk, but Christ knows far I am from it. I stumble all to often. The devil catches me off guard all the time, and he causes me to fall. The devil is great with temptation, hes been doing it for thousands of years! I am just learning know the trust of his temptations, and learning how to discern right from wrong, but I am far from perfection. We are all, we all struggle daily with keeping to His Word. The more week seek and hold onto wisdom the stronger we will be, we will have better ability at discerning right from wrong, we will be able to recognize the devils deceptions, the knowledge and wisdom to do what is right, and the courage to do it.  Wisdom frees us from stumbling, if we choose to accept it and hold onto it always.

Stumbling may be a trick of the devils from keeping us from walking a complete righteous walk with Christ, but it is not without it’s benefits. My favorite benefit of stumbling is that it helps reveal to me Christs love. Whenever I stumble I feel like a failure, I have directly obeyed God’s Word, I have chosen my own desires over His and put His relationship aside for my own personal satisfaction. Every time I stumble, the devil attempts to use my guilt as a further stumbling block. The devil first tempts me into stumbling, he then makes me feel me feel guilty, and finally he attempts to trick me into thinking there is no way the Lord could love me for what I have just done to Him, for what I do over and over again to Him. However I am blessed to have enough wisdom and understanding to know that no matter how much evil I do against the Lord, He still loves me all the same. There is nothing I can do to remove my self Christs love. Through wisdom, stumbling teaches me how much I am loved by my Savior, that Christ is there to catch me when I fall, and He paid the penalty for my sin.

Sweet Sleep

The ability to sleep really is something I have been blessed with. As soon as I get into my bed, I’m out like a rock and there is no waking me until morning! However this isn’t always the case, once in a blue moon I am stuck awake reliving my day through my imagination, going through all the different scenarios over and over again, and possibly regretting thing I may have done or not have done. Wisdom and understanding helps allow us to avoid this. I don’t mean to say that wisdom and understanding is going to make you skip your night time thought processes and put you straight to sleep. What I mean is, our worst nights of sleep is when we are either regretting something we may have done, or left undone, or when we live in fear and anticipation of what is going to happen tomorrow. Wisdom and understanding teaches us how to live our life, if we could live in complete harmony with them, we would have nothing to fear and nothing to regret. Wisdom and understanding helps us make our positive choices. They allow us to view the whole picture, and not just the narrow beam our eyes give us. The closer we are to wisdom, the more we seek it, the better choices we will make in our life, the less we live regretting our past, and the more we do not fear what lies ahead of us.

One thought on “The Devils Deceptions

What's on your mind?

