Wisdom’s Bengay

This is the same necklace as mine, except mine is black.

Proverbs 3:21-22 (NIV)

My son, do not let wisdom and understanding out of your sight,
preserve sound judgment and discretion;
they will be life for you,
an ornament to grace your neck.

Proverbs 3:21-22 (KJV)

My son, let not them depart from thine eyes: keep sound wisdom and discretion:
So shall they be life unto thy soul, and grace to thy neck.

This is one of those times were different versions, provide sightly different meanings. When I see the words “an ornament to grace your neck,” I like to think of a necklace, or anything visible to third parties. Meaning that when others look upon you they see wisdom and understanding, it shines forth. When I see the words “grace to thy neck” I like to think relieving pain from your neck. Meaning that wisdom and understanding provides comfort to your body, it takes away stress, and provides good structure to our body. Which is a more accurate definition, I don’t know, but I believe each provides an important lesson for us to learn.

An ornament to grace your neck

I have this necklace that I like to wear. It is a cross made out of nails, and tied together with wire (wire is suppose to represent the crown of thorns around Jesus’ head). It provides a few functions for me, one, it is an outward appearance to others to show that I am christian, two, it is a reminder of Christs death on the cross, and three, it is a comfort knowing that Christ is always with me. Anytime I become even remotely stressed and need comfort from the Lord I grab on the cross and squeeze it tight into my fist. There are times I instinctively(without conscience thought) kiss the cross because  it makes me feel closer to Christ, and its a way of me showing my love towards Him (No I do not worship my necklace by any means, it’s just a necklace, it’s just a symbolic tool that helps unite me personally with Christ). 

Wisdom, Understanding, good Judgement, and Discretion should be bound to us in the same way, my necklace is to me. When others look at you from first glance, they should be able to see these qualities from the Lord. How do others perceive you? How are you representing Christ? I suggest taking a look at an old post of mine, What Do You Want To Be Known For? A Pickle Lover?

Grace to thy neck

Being an athlete, I have dealt with my fair share of injuries. One of my least favorite injuries are the ones in my neck. They seem to go on forever, nothing seems to be able to fix them. Pain to my neck effects the functions the movement of my head. I usually find the pain so annoying that I just try to stay inactive and rest my neck by laying down. After days of this pain, it finally goes away at random, and I rejoice by going and doing lots of physical activity. When it goes away, my mood greatly improves, making it even better than what it was before hand.

Wisdom, Understanding, good Judgement, and Discretion provides us this healing to our neck. They are like bengay (muscle relaxing gell) on steroids. Not only do they provide us with a temporary feel good, but they give us a permanent fix to all our problems (if we would never let them out of our sights). They provide us structure and stability to our lives, they teach us how to live, and show us what decisions to make. If we were to have ultimate Wisdom, Understanding, Judgement, and Discretion our lives would be like that of Christs life. We may not be able to achieve perfection, but we can surely strive for it, you would be amazed at the results you would see in your own life.

Good Judgement

I wanted to pull this out from the NIV text. I’m not going to write much about it and I’m going to make it very quick and to the point, because I will be in future posts(way in the future though,  not until chapter 29 of Proverbs I believe). But so often we are told not to judge, that it is bad, and only for God to do. There is a right way to judge, and a wrong way to judge. It is wrong to judge someone and look down upon them like they are less than you, or if you falsely acuse of something based off an assumption or stereotype.  However, if you notice a fellow brother or sister in Christ committing a particular sin, if you see them becoming less of a character of God, or if you begin to assume something of them that isn’t pleasing to the Lord, bring it to them! As brothers and sisters in Christ, it is our job to take care and look out for one another. If you are concerned for a sibling in Christ, take it to them in private so that you can correct the matter. Do need speak to them with a tone of authority over them, but rather bring it to them with concern. It is better for this, than for them to be eternally dammed because they have lost ways with the Lord. So bring your concern to one another, in private, and ask of others to do the same to you.

2 thoughts on “Wisdom’s Bengay

  1. Hey Joshua, I trust all is well?
    Can we discuss the Good Judgement part you blogged about?I cant seem to type more than this in the comment block, whats your email?

What's on your mind?

