Single and Living Happily!

Mondays are always be least favorite day of the week. I am scheduled to be busy from 7am-7:30pm with one two hour gap of break before noon (I’m skipping a class today). However I there is one good thing about Mondays, and that is Blimeycow. Blimeycow is a youtube channel that comes out with a new video every monday. They are always very entertaining, funny, aimed at college/high school students and usually have a Christ based message. This week the topic was about being single. I’ve seen so many people think they need to have a boy/girl friend. “If only I was in a relationship, than I would be happy.” This has always bothered me. If you can’t be happy outside of a relationship, there is no way you could be happy inside of a relationship. Yet we are conditioned to believe we need a relationship to be happy. When it comes to societies norms about relationships, I am considered “weird.” Deep inside do I desire a relationship? Yeah, sure. It would be nice to have something like that. But I would much rather wait. Not necessary wait for the right women, but wait until I am ready. I don’t have any interest in dating for fun, if I were to date someone it would be for the long run. Because of this I want to make sure I am ready. I want to give this girl(who ever she may be) the best I can because she would deserve it. I want to be strong enough, mature enough, responsible enough, and wise enough. I want to make sure I am firmly planted with Christ. I want to be in inspiration to her, I want to help her in our path towards the Cross. In short, I want to be a man of God utilizing my strengths and weaknesses, and nothing less.

On a side note  I have time over time been committed of being a commitment-phoebe. In all honesty, I can accept that to be true, but it is because I want to make sure I am the person that a girl needs to maximize her faith in Christ. I am deeply scared to be anything less than that.

Anywho I wanted to share Blimeycow’s video this Monday because I completely agree with it and it should be shared to teenagers (especially young ones) everywhere!

11 thoughts on “Single and Living Happily!

    1. Thanks and no problem! From experience, I know the youth can be pretty focused on relationships. I know and have seen so many who believe they need to have a relationship to fit in and to be happy. I thought this video had a very fun, but true message that could be impactful.

      God Bless,
      Joshua J. Huffman

  1. Reblogged this on Love, Life, and Relationships: Overcoming Emotional and Child Sexual Abuse and commented:
    Here’s the thing. Many people are not really single at all because there heart is already given away to the past or the future. Sometimes you have to take in life by its moments and enjoy your personal growth. Identify who really are so that you can be honest with yourself about who you will attract. I thought this video was very entertaining and loved the subliminal messages. Please enjoy.

  2. What an excellent statement you make! I am 32 and am still single. Part of that may have been shyness a few years ago, but I’ve come to see that life is too short to focus on dating every woman you meet. It’s pointless if you dont see a lifelong potential! I am right there with you about seeming weird to others! I just never wanted to have someone until I was ready. And I’m still growing! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks! Well as Paul said in Corinthians, it is better to be single than with a partner! If you have a partner you can’t focus completely on God, but rather your focus will be split between your partner and God.
      Yes, no problem! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      God Bless,
      Joshua J. Huffman

  3. I saw that video on my Facebook feed and it was hilarious and so true! Wow, you have such a wonderful perspective! God will bless you for all you’ve done while waiting until you’re ready for a relationship. More of us need to think alone those lines instead of panicking about not having a relationship. I must admit I am guilty of this. God has a plan and I just have to be patient! 🙂 Blessings, Sarah

    1. Thanks! The way I see it is that you are going to love your spouse. I want to give my spouse the best I can. Paul says while being single is when you are able to grow the most towards Christ (which is why he pushes us to not even marry, but to only marry if we can not control our passion). Not having a relationship is actually a blessing, but through societies pressures we like to think otherwise. Don’t rush out of being single for your own ambitions. Fill your heart with God and seek Him. If you want a relationship you will find one. One day as you are running toward Christ, you will notice a man running right beside you. Until that day comes, just keep seeking Christ and keep growing in Him!

      God Bless,
      Joshua J. Huffman

      1. “One day as you are running toward Christ, you will notice a man running right beside you. Until that day comes, just keep seeking Christ and keep growing in Him!” <—What beautiful statement! Thanks for the encouragement and Godly wisdom today! I definitely needed to hear this!
        Blessings,
        Sarah

What's on your mind?

