I’m a God guy

Apple iPad Event
Apple iPad Event (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Proverbs 3:3-4

Let love and faithfulness never leave you;
bind them around your neck,
write them on the tablet of your heart.
Then you will win favor and a good name
in the sight of God and man.

I read over this verse plenty of times, but it never really ment anything to me. I got that we should always be filled with love and faithfulness, but it didn’t stick to me. The first time it ever stood out out to me was after I purchased a tablet from Best Buy, and I was reading it on the tablet (this tablet being an iPad). I smiled to myself thinking I’m reading a bible verse about tablets, on a tablet computer. It got me thinking though, why did I purchase this tablet instead of an android tablet, an amazon tablet, or any other tablet? Well the answer was obvious, I am Apple guy, in the same way I am also a Nike guy. When it comes to any kind of computers, I want an Apple, it’s the first thing that comes to mind. I admit that sometimes I even covet Apple products. When it comes to shoes, I always buy Nike, same with Hockey. I have fallen in love with Nike and will always support them, they are once again the first company I go to. We all got our favorite brands. Apple. Windows. Linux. Nike. Adidas. Facebook. Twitter. Sony. Nintendo. This list goes on and on. Often the people around you are aware of your favorites. Amongst my friends, I know they would quickly call me an Apple guy. Apple products is on the tablet of my heart.

How about when we handle ourselves in different situations? If you are in a situation you don’t like (I am sure you can think of the examples), how do you represent yourself? What’s a recent situation that you have been in? How would you say others would critique your response? What this verse is saying is that similarly when it comes to computers, my first response is Apple, when it comes to representing ourselves in life, our first response should be faithfulness and love. Faithfulness and love should be written across our heart.

When we look at other individuals, who do we respect the most? The ones who got angry, maybe jealous, talked back, etc? Or is it the ones who gave love and faithfulness. Giving love and faithfulness is what is going to get us a good name, both with God, and here on earth. If we are looking for respect from others, we must start with respecting others first.

What does it mean to be faithful?

When thinking a bit deeper into these verses, I was interested in knowing what it ment by “faithfulness.” The first thing that came to mind was being faithful to others, to believe in others. When someone believes in you, doesn’t that improve your opinion of that person? It makes you feel better about yourself. It is also important to have faith in yourself. When other’s see you have faith in yourself, they tend to look up to you and respect you. Now I believe that is part of the equation, but it makes the most sense by meaning to be faithful to God. When we are faithful to God, truly faithful, we separate ourselves from the rest of the World. When we are being faithful to God, we are putting Him above everything else, including our own desires. Being faithful means we are obeying the Ten Commandments, all of them, not just the convient ones. To do this, would make us like Jesus.

What's on your mind?

