Persecution: Challenge Accepted!

When it comes to persecution and being hating, us Christians have always been taught its a good thing. We can find it many places in the bible. Matthew 5:10-12, Matthew 24:9, John 15:20, 2 Timothy 3:12, Revelation 2:10, Matthew 10:22, and Luke 6:22 are just but a few of them. However, don’t we often think that it is for the missionaries and the truly righteous that receive this blessing? In fact, aren’t we even thankful for that? Don’t we often spend our time trying to get everyone to love us. We try to put ourself in a comfortable world, avoiding anything that would break our comfort zone. Not all the time, sometimes we are bold enough to make us uncomfortable. More often than not though we live trying to please everyone before our Maker. We make ourselves right with those with on earth, before God. We unconsciously avoid any persecutions because our fear of man comes before our fear of God. Isn’t this breaking the 1st commandment? 

So where does persecution happen in our lives? To often it doesn’t. Isn’t that for missionaries, and the truly righteous? When researching verses about persecution and being hated, I came across one that really stood out to me.

2 Timothy 3:12

In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted,

Let me repeat, In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted. I like this verse because it is not just blessing you for being persecuted, it is telling you that if you are living for Christ, you will be persecuted. We may not suffer physical persecutions like Jesus and many of the Apostles did. The persecutions we face are being rejected, rebuked, thought less of, not always being liked, and etc. How many of us have enemies because of Christ? How many of us are being persecuted in our daily lives because of Christ? I like what Paul says here:

Acts 26:11

Many a time I went from one synagogue to another to have them punished, and I tried to force them to blaspheme. I was so obsessed with persecuting them that I even hunted them down in foreign cities.

He was obsessed with persecuting Christians. He hunted them down! If Paul was like this, can’t we know that many nonbelievers are like this? In fact, they are easily findable today all over the internet and in real life. There are people out there just searching to persecute Christians; they look for just the hint of Christianity in someone and bring them down. Have you been brought down? Or have you kept your faith to yourself, avoiding to be persecuted? I’m not saying to go out there and get yourself in trouble. What I am suggesting is that you live your faith out loud. Others around you should know by your actions that you are a Christian. They should be able to see both the Love of the Lord in you, as well as the passion to strive to do what is pleasing to Him.

When I read 2 Timothy 3:12, and Acts 26:11 together, I have but one reply. Challenge Accepted!

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank you for all that you have given me. Help me to keep my eye’s on you. Help me to eliminate my fear of others. Fill my heart with you. Allow others to see you through me. I ask that my faith shines to those around me. Thanks for always being with me, and help me to put my faith and trust in you. Help me to live for you. In Jesus name we pray, Amen!


Inspiration from this post came from here.


6 thoughts on “Persecution: Challenge Accepted!

  1. What a great post! It reminds me of the book I am currently reading by Kyle Ivermann called Not A Fan. He says that most people are just fans of Christ and we should instead strive to be His followers. Followers are willing to accept any consequence of following-like persecution-while fans are much more content cheering on the sideline. Highly recommended!!

    1. Thanks! I am going to have to check that book out, I am interested!
      Another thing to point out, that we all to often just try to brush off is that Hell is very real. Every person that isn’t saved,every person that doesn’t know Jesus will be going there. It is our job to witness to them to save them! When we are just being “fans” we let opportunities go by where we can witness to others.

      Thanks for the comment! God Bless!
      Joshua J. Huffman

      1. I agree! Hell is as real as Heaven–you can’t have one without the other. Why? Because of man’s sin, and their unbelief, they must pay the penalty–just as any criminal does. Hell was prepared for Satan and his angels–not for humans who were created perfectly. Sin doomed us all to that eternity. (See Matthew 25:31-46 and Luke 16:19-30)

        Thank God there is a way out!!

        –Brian

What's on your mind?

