Seek the Lord like Silver

Proverbs 2:1-5

My son, if you accept my words
and store up my commands within you,
turning your ear to wisdom
and applying your heart to understanding—
indeed, if you call out for insight
and cry aloud for understanding,
and if you look for it as for silver
and search for it as for hidden treasure,
then you will understand the fear of the LORD
and find the knowledge of God.

When I read these verses I can’t help but think of my newest obsession whatever it may be. Currently it is learning German. I am constantly reviewing it. I try to apply it everywhere I go. Sometimes even googling things that may help me learn it easier. I am always looking to learn more of it. Sometimes it could be the newest girl, or boy in your life. The thing is you are always looking to gain more knowledge about whatever it may be. You get the picture.

So when I am reading this verses, the Lord is telling us to make Him that obsession. To keep His Commandments in your heart, to do your best to follow them! Take what you learn about Him and not just store it in your brain, but apply it to your life. To constantly search Him out, always looking to learn more about Him. “and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure,”You have to want to search Him out though. As we search our rare things, because we want to and we want to have it, we should seek out the Lord in this same mindset. When we do, we will understand the fear of the Lord, and find His knowledge. Fear Him like you fear your parents. No one wants to let their parents down, and no one wants to upset their parents. We don’t like the shame of the punishment of that. The same should be applied towards our Heavily Father.

2 thoughts on “Seek the Lord like Silver

What's on your mind?

