Consequences of Avoiding Wisdom’s Call

Proverbs 1:22-27

“How long will you who are simple love your simple ways?
How long will mockers delight in mockery
and fools hate knowledge?
Repent at my rebuke!
Then I will pour out my thoughts to you,
I will make known to you my teachings.
But since you refuse to listen when I call
and no one pays attention when I stretch out my hand,
since you disregard all my advice
and do not accept my rebuke,
I in turn will laugh when disaster strikes you;
I will mock when calamity overtakes you—
when calamity overtakes you like a storm,
when disaster sweeps over you like a whirlwind,
when distress and trouble overwhelm you.

Yesterday, we looked at how the Holy Spirit is shouting at us for listen and how we can’t hear Her because we are lost in the noise of our daily life. Today’s reading shows us what the Holy Spirit is trying to warn us.

  • How long will you who are simple love your simple ways? – A simple person will always love his simple ways. This is what makes him simple.
  • How long will mockers delight in mockery? – Always! A mocker isn’t a mocker, unless he delights in mockery!
  • How long will fools hate knowledge? Forever! Once again, what makes a fool is that he stays in his foolishry, hating knowledge.
Because of this, the Spirit asks us to repent! Once we repent She will give us wisdom, and knowledge! Unfortunately, as we learned yesterday, we get caught up in ourselves, trying to do everything ourself, that we sometimes fail to seek out help. The Holy Spirit is offering us Her hand, but we fail to see it.
When we fail to seek our the Holy Spirit, She knows that diaster is going to over come us. When we try to do things on our own, we are going to be slept away! Stress will over come us. Stress will overcome us quickly! We will be full of troubles and uncertainty. We will be completely lost in our ways.
In reading this passage, I see the dangers of trying to live according to me, according to my understanding. I see how my ways will get me lost in a storm. How easily I will be defeated. Luckily all I have to do is call out to the Holy Spirit, and reach my arm towards Hers. In doing this, She will give us Her advice. Her knowledge. Her wisdom.
2 thoughts on “Consequences of Avoiding Wisdom’s Call

  1. Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, thankyou . While thou livest keep a good tongue in thy head. by William Shakespeare. febdcddbkfge

What's on your mind?

