April Fools: Time to fear the Lord and seek knowledge

Today begins my journey into Proverbs. Right off the bat the Lord is teaching me something about wisdom, and that is patience. I am super excited to get deeper into Proverbs. The first few chapters was not what I had in mind, I had quickly forgotten about them. However they are equally as important as the rest of the book. Before I get into the “good” stuff, I must go through the introductions. Patience, the first piece to learning wisdom.

Proverbs 1:1-7
Purpose and Theme

1 The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel:

2 for gaining wisdom and instruction;
for understanding words of insight;
3 for receiving instruction in prudent behavior,
doing what is right and just and fair;
4 for giving prudence to those who are simple,[a]
knowledge and discretion to the young—
5 let the wise listen and add to their learning,
and let the discerning get guidance—
6 for understanding proverbs and parables,
the sayings and riddles of the wise.[b]

7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge,
but fools[c] despise wisdom and instruction.

Solomon has written Proverbs (his parts) simply for us to gain wisdom. This set of verses explains what wisdom gives us. Wisdom gives us knowledge, humbles us, gives us discernment, and makes us think for the future. Proverbs is not only for the foolish, simple, and young, but Proverbs is also for the wise. There is always much more to learn. As we dig deeper into Proverbs, much will be revealed to us. We will learn to discren right from wrong, a line that is becoming so blurred today that in some places it’s invisible. As we go through Proverbs we wil gain the wisdom  to see this line and point it out to others. We will learn when to speak out to those in need, and when it is best to say nothing.

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction. This April Fools day, are you going to be a fool? Or are you going to put the fear of the Lord in you and seek out knowledge?

4 thoughts on “April Fools: Time to fear the Lord and seek knowledge

  1. Well, well. It looks like I am not the only one seeking wisdom, huh? I look forward to reading your thoughts as we independently (no cheating!) go through Proverbs. It wil be interesting to see how you choose which proverb to discuss.

    1. No, you are not alone! I was pretty excited when Richard told me about you! I definitely look forward to your posts as well. I almost cheated today, but I caught myself. I am very curious as to how God is going to call both me, and you, on we choose our Proverbs. I’ve been going through the first few chapters and there is so many routes one could go. This shall be fun! God Bless you as you go through Proverbs, and thanks for the comment!

What's on your mind?

