Don’t Bother With The Ten Commandments!

Now that I just spent the last ten days on the ten commandments, I am going to tell you to stop following them! Don’t focus all your time making sure that you follow them all perfectly! You can’t follow them perfectly, and God is going to love you the same no matter how far, or close you are to following them. So why follow them if you don’t want to?  Well, I am just kidding about all that. Or am I?

The answer is yes we should try to follow the commandments, not because you have to, but because you want to. I am almost (keyword almost) tempted to say that if you are only keeping a commandment because you have to, and not because you want to, you are wasting your time. Just commit the sin because you heart is not with it.

We must know that there is nothing we can do to get to Heaven. Even at our very best we are sinful. I love this verse from the bible

Isaiah 64:6 

All of us have become like one who is unclean,
and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags;
we all shrivel up like a leaf,
and like the wind our sins sweep us away.

The line “and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags” stands out to me. What we have translated to filthy rags, is actualy ment to be menstrual cloth (used tampon). Us fulfilling the ten commandments at our best, us being the most righteous person we can be, is at its best compared to menstrual cloth. How does that make you feel?

Romans 3:20 

For no one can ever be made right with God by doing what the law commands. The law simply shows us how sinful we are.

I tend to view this as meaning that the law isn’t exactly there for us to fulfill, but to show us we can not fulfill it and that we are sinful and do not deserve Gods gift to us.

Ephesians 2:8-9

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—  not by works, so that no one can boast.

Romans 4
So the promise is received by faith. It is given as a free gift. And we are all certain to receive it, whether or not we live according to the law of Moses, if we have faith like Abraham’s. For Abraham is the father of all who believe. And because of Abraham’s faith, God counted him as righteous.  And when God counted him as righteous, it wasn’t just for Abraham’s benefit. It was recorded for our benefit, too, assuring us that God will also count us as righteous if we believe in him, the one who raised Jesus our Lord from the dead

I like these two sets of verses a lot. We are saved by God’s grace. “And we are all certain to receive it, whether or not we live according to the law of Moses.” So even if we don’t live by the law, we can still receive God’s grace.

What is the Point of the Ten Commandments?

If fulfilling the ten commandments doesn’t have to do with how I am saved, why should I follow them, what is the point? Following the ten commandments goes beyond just doing what you are told. The purpose of the ten commandments is to protect us. Look through the ten commandments, and think of the consequences in your life that happens from breaking each one of them. The reason God gave us these commandments is to protect us from the consequences. The law is there to protect us, not to keep us restricted. (Kind of like when parents give their children rules)I believe this is something we often forget about, I know I do.

A second thing to consider is the relationship side of fulfilling the law. We should fulfill the law because we want to. It’s like our relationships on earth(Spouse, boy/girl friend, family, friend, etc). With the relationships closest to us, we do our best to be righteous towards them. They do good to us, and we do good back to them in return. The same applies with God. We should love God so much that we no longer what to sin. Every sin we do pushes us a little bit further from God. We should want to avoid being pushed away, but look to be brought closer to God. It’s our love for God, that should give us the desire to fulfill the ten commandments.
To answer the opening question “Or am I just kidding?” Of course I was. Those are the lies the devil may try to manipulate to us to keep us alway from the law. The law may not be here to get us into Heaven. We may be far from fulfilling the law. But we must do our best to fulfill the law because it protects us. The law is a blessing to us.

Memory Verse of the Week:

Ecclesiastics 7:18

It is good to grasp the one and not let go of the other. The man who fears God will avoid all [extremes].


11 thoughts on “Don’t Bother With The Ten Commandments!

  1. And that is where we who are Catholic Christians would differ from you as a Lutheran-background Christian. It is true none of us can ever earn our salvation (something we as Catholics are accused of often) but neither would we ever suggest “go ahead and commit the sin.” Luther did suggest that and even said to “sin boldly.” We disagree.

    There is a point where we can step away from the salvation or “state of grace” God gives to us through our baptism into Him. Salvation has conditions. Even if we are obeying for the wrong reasons, we need to obey as best we can and then seek God to help us find the right reasons and to go from there. Biblical salvation comes through repentance, which is turning away from all known sin, and placing faith in Christ (normally at baptism but there are exceptions such as the thief on the Cross and those who had no opportunity to be baptized).

    But Romans 6 is clear when St Paul, who taught clearly that we are justified by faith, also tells us “God forbid” if we go ahead and sin because we are under grace. God forbid is fairly strong language. St James tells us that “faith without works is dead” and that even the demons believe–and tremble. So faith alone is not what saves, but faith which is alive and willing to serve God. All through the New Testament there were people who started out by serving God and then left the Faith. It can happen. I agree it is not the norm, but we should always realize that the potential is there. Grace is a gift, but has to be received and repentance is a condition for that grace to become real in our lives.

    Just food for thought.

    PS–your series was marvelous. I hope I am as strong of a Christian one day when I grow up too…:)

    1. Yeah, I feel like I may have been a little to loose on that. I don’t think my jokingly sarcastic tone was translated very well into text. The further I got into writing the post, the worse I felt about suggesting the idea to commit a sin It is unfortunate the Catholics are still accused of that to this day. I believed Catholics thought that all my life until recently, and that scared me. Now I look forward to learning more and more about Catholic doctrine, to help deifier what I have thought Catholics to believer, and what they actually believe.

      I have heard the saying “sin boldly.” In ful context “Be a sinner, and let your sins be strong (sin boldly), but let your trust in Christ be stronger, and rejoice in Christ who is the victor over sin, death, and the world.” I get what he is saying, but the words “sin boldly” has always bothered me.

      As for the rest, I agree with you completely! All of what you have said is true, and should never be forgotten! “Faith without works is dead” is one of my favorite passages. Sometimes I view that as best as I can, without wrongful judging, a way to separate the sheep from the goats within the Church.

      Thank you very much! I appreciate that! I am hoping to do another series coming up. I really enjoyed it. I hope I am as knowledgeable and wise of a Christian one day when I grow up too 😉

  2. We were just talking about this in our Bible study this week!

    Here are some of the verses we talked about :
    Galatians 2:16
    “Nevertheless knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the Law but through faith in Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Christ Jesus, so that we may be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the Law; since by the works of the Law no flesh will be justified.”

    Galatians 3:13
    “Christ redeemed us from the curse of the Law, having become a curse for us–for it is written, ‘Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree.”

    Galatians 5:18
    “But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the Law.”

    Praise God that Jesus paid the price so we are no longer under the Law! But, we should still glorify God by following Him and becoming more like Jesus!

    “The answer is yes we should try to follow the commandments, not because you have to, but because you want to.” –So true!

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Sarah I agree with you that we are not in any way saved by acts of righteousness as such, but the desire to be righteous is of course part and parcel of our repentance and turning towards God, so I think that is where the balance is.

    What concerns me (not about you obviously) about some believers of all stripes is the sense that “hey God saved me so I can live as I wish.” That of course was never the teaching of the Bible, Old or New Testament, but some cling to it as if it were. In that sense it is not “grace alone through faith alone.” We have to, as you so rightly said, WANT to serve Jesus precisely because He did choose to redeem us from ourselves.

    We follow the Commandments because, if we honestly love Him, we will wish to. Simple. Hard. All at once. But always grace. Your post is well put.

  4. “Don’t Bother With The Ten Commandments!” Josh, I disagree with you. The 10 Commandments are necessary guidelines everyone needs follow. They are our moral compass. You cannot please God or attempt to please without following these guidelines.

    Jesus knew the importance of the 10 Commandments, He quoted many of them during His discourses. And He made it clear that He did not come to abolish them: “Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill” (Matthew 5:17).

    God bless you.

    1. Yeah, I think I didn’t go a good enough job getting my point across. I do actually feel it is important to follow the ten commandments. As stated in a previous comment “Faith without works is dead.”

      However, I do not believe we are capable of pleasing God through our righteous acts. This is were our differences probably lie.

      Yes Jesus does state the importance of following the ten commandments many times. Agreed that He did not come to abolish them.

      The demographic of who I was trying to reach through this post was primary those who follow the law without any heart, as well as those who beat themselves up over not being able to perfectly follow the law.

      Thanks for you comment!
      Gods Blessings and Peace to you as well!

What's on your mind?

