Honor Your Father and Your Mother

According to the Bible:

Exodus 20:12

“Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you.

Deuteronomy 5:16

“Honor your father and your mother, as the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live long and that it may go well with you in the land the LORD your God is giving you.

Ephesians 6:12

“Honor your father and mother”–which is the first commandment with a promise–

According to Luther’s Small Catechism:

What does this mean?–Answer.

We should fear and love God that we may not despise nor anger our parents and masters, but give them honor, serve, obey, and hold them in love and esteem.

According to the Catechism of the Catholic Church: (Only three of the points)
III. The Duties of Family Members
 2214 The divine fatherhood is the source of human fatherhood;16 this is the foundation of the honor owed to parents. the respect of children, whether minors or adults, for their father and mother17 is nourished by the natural affection born of the bond uniting them. It is required by God’s commandment

IV. The Family and the Kingdom

2232 Family ties are important but not absolute. Just as the child grows to maturity and human and spiritual autonomy, so his unique vocation which comes from God asserts itself more clearly and forcefully. Parents should respect this call and encourage their children to follow it. They must be convinced that the first vocation of the Christian is to follow Jesus: “He who loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he who loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.”39

V. The Authorities in Civil Society

2239 It is the duty of citizens to contribute along with the civil authorities to the good of society in a spirit of truth, justice, solidarity, and freedom. the love and service of one’s country follow from the duty of gratitude and belong to the order of charity. Submission to legitimate authorities and service of the common good require citizens to fulfill their roles in the life of the political community.


When thinking about this commandment, the first thing I think of is Will Smiths song Parents Just Don’t Understand, which you can find at the bottom of this blog. It’s true that, especially for the younger generation, that we think our parents just don’t understand. We get very narrow focused, and don’t see the big picture. Life involves around us, and everything needs to make us, well, happier. When there is anything that gives us displeasure, we view it as a negative. When our parents punish us, we are so narrow minded that all we can see in their punishment towards us is negative. Rather it is for our benefit, it gives us the opportunity to learn from our mistakes, that we don’t even always see as mistakes.

Hebrews 12:11

For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.

As we get older and mature in life, we all release how true that is. We see the wisdom in our parents. In our youth our parents would be the last people we go to for advice, but as we get older, we seek them more and more.

Back to the commandment though. “Honor your father and your mother, as the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live long and that it may go well with you in the land the LORD your God is giving you.” The purpose of this commandment is simple. We must honor our father and mother, respect their authority over us, and obey their commands. Not only our parents, but our elders, and anyone with authority over us. In honoring them, God gives us a reward. The reward God gives us is for us to live long, and for your life to go well. I believe this to be something worth recognition, because no other commandment states a benefit to follow the commandment given.


Ten Commandments:

  1. Thou Shalt Have No Other gods
  2. Thou Shalt Not Take the Name of the Lord, Thy God, in vain.
  3. Remember the Sabbath Day by Keeping it Holy
  4. Honor Your Father and Mother
  5. Thou shalt not kill.
  6. Thou shalt not commit adultery.
  7. Thou shalt not steal.
  8. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.
  9. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s house.
  10. Thou shalt not covet thy neighbor’s wife, nor his man-servant, nor his maid-servant, nor his cattle, nor anything that is his. 

Memory Verse of the Week:

Philippians 2:3

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves,



14 thoughts on “Honor Your Father and Your Mother

  1. As usual my young brother you hit the “nail on the head,” which I am sure feels better than missing it and hitting your thumb like I usually do hehe.

    I want you to know that I appreciate your use of the Catechism of the Catholic Church, not only because I am a Catholic Christian, but also because it shows to me how similar all of us as Christians actually are. We have so much to share with one another in our Lord Jesus Christ.

    We certainly both agree on the Commandments–and you, through this post, have reminded me to call my nearly 90 year old dad this weekend too. Sunday will be the 21st anniversary of my mother’s passing (she was 69 and died of cancer in 1991), and life just goes way too fast to put such things off. We need to tell them how much we love them while we still are able and they can still hear it on this earth. You never outgrow the need to honor your elders.

    God bless!

    1. Thanks! Ha, yes I am positive it is a much better feeling than hitting your thumb!

      Yeah, no problem. All my life, doesn’t matter if I was talking to Lutherans or if I was talking to any christian (denomination, or non-denominational), everyone seems to put the Catholic Church way out in left field. Finally, since I think it is important you form your own opinions instead of assuming the way of everyone else, I have done research and the Catholic Church doesn’t seem to be like I had always thought it was. There are a few things that I don’t agree with, but as a whole, christians are all the same and I wish there wasn’t so much division between denominations within the Church. I am trying to keep a minds eye over all christian denominations and infuse as much as I can.

      Well I hope you call him than! Sounds like he will definitely appreciate your call! I am sorry to hear about that! Maybe he would like to have a personal visit as well?

      I hear ya! I have heard many students of young adults who lost their parents at an early age, and they all seem to regret not ever telling their parents how much they loved them. One of the best ways of loving them, as by honoring them!

      God Bless to you as well!

      1. I do not know if you read my story or not, but I was raised Roman Catholic and then was evangelical Protestant for many years. So was our mutual friend Cinhosa (who found your blog through me by the way!) and it is happening a lot. I went through many of the same steps of searching and finally realizing that Catholicism was not was I really thought. And eventually I went back. Wherever God leads you, in any case, I appreciate your attitude towards those of us in that circle of Christianity. If you have not read my story let me know, I will send you the link.

        1. Yeah I did read it, and very much enjoyed it!
          Actually, funny thing is, Cinhosa actually was my second follower way back in January.
          Yeah now days, I don’t like to consider myself apart of a certain denomination, and stick to just considering myself with a Christian, with a Lutheran background, but being open to any idea as long as there is scripture support to it…. I just personally don’t care to call myself anything more than just a Christian.

          1. OHHHH I apologize to both you and Cinhosa, I thought he found you because of me lol…live and learn. Oh well.

  2. Amen, brother!

    Although my dad passed away 13 years ago before my children were born, his wisdom is still with me and I am fortunate to pass it along.

    I also think that in learning to honor our fathers and mothers, we have a model to honor God.

  3. Another point I just thought of, and that is how the nuclear human family is a picture of the Divine Family. There is a Father, God, a Mother, Mary, a Son, Jesus, and all are united by the Holy Spirit. And, no, I am not putting the Blessed Mother on the same level as the Trinity!

    But I am saying she does reflect very perfectly what we might call the “divine feminine.” Her “yes” (fiat in Latin for “let it be done”) to the Father was the very thing which caused the Incarnation to take place. God could have done it in numerous other ways but he chose her as the vehicle to carry His Son, God the Son, to us.

    He is indeed Father to us all, and the earthly family is indeed a picture of the first truly Holy Family here on earth (Jesus, Mary and Joseph) as well as the Church family as Ephesians tells us. Family is everything to Father God.

    This is one of many reasons why feminisim, which is certainly not all bad, sometimes misses the mark by trying to remove gender titles from God. I have heard people who no longer even pray the Lord’s Prayer, given by Jesus, as “Our Father” but call Him the Divne Parent or some such thing. But He was revealed to us as a Father–the first source of all things the have ever or will ever exist.

    And honoring our parents is also yet another way to honor him as the one perfect Father and Jesus as both our Lord and elder brother. Pretty amazing to be “part of the family.”

    1. I understand, and I like that analogy!

      I agree with you, the feminine movement is largely pushing away the role God has placed for us, and is attempting to blur the lines of gender roles. I believe this to be a huge problem.

      That is sad to hear, sounds like they are picking and choosing from the bible what they want to believe, and instead of taking it all as the inspired Word of God.

      It is indeed!

  4. Reblogged this on catholicboyrichard and commented:
    INTRODUCING JOSHUA…If you want a treat, I absoulutely recommend wholeheartedly this blog to you…Joshua Huffman is a 20 year old college student who has decided to tackle the 10 commandments as part of his Lenten journey. I find that amazing, especially in a world where even very devout Christians cannot sometimes name 3 of them. And this young man not only knows them, but wants his friends (online and otherwise) and family to know them and follow them as well. Okay he can’t spell…but hopefully he won’t be too upset with me saying so hehe.

    At his age I was in Bible College and I do not think I would have even thought of writing a series on this difficult and in-depth topic. His story is amazing, as is his walk with our Lord Jesus. He is Lutheran by background but is kindly sharing references from the Catechism of the Catholic Church as well as Luther , and obviously Sacred Scripture, to enhance these teachings. You are in for a treat. And he is a young man who is going places for Jesus our Lord. That I guarantee.

What's on your mind?

