The Disc of Life

In Minnesota it is an absolutely beautiful day! It is 61 degrees out, and it is just going to get nicer all week! Me being who I am, I love to do things outside in this weather, preferably a sport of some kind. My dad, my foreign exchange brother, two friends, and myself went and played frisbee golf. For anyone who doesn’t know what that is, it is literally golf, played with frisbees.

English: Disc golf basket number 2 in Yyteri.
Image via Wikipedia

While we were frisbee golfing I got my first ever Eagle/Birdie. It filled me with joy, but it got me thinking how this relates to our relationship with Christ. Before that throw, I was all over. I was forcing myself to throw the disc as hard as I could, and it was just going everywhere. There was no constancy to my throws, except that they were all un-constant. It wasn’t until I slowed down, and threw with control, at a peace of mind, letting whatever happen to just happen. Once I started to let go, relax, and not force anything, my throws started becoming so much proficient, the distance they were going was much further, and the accuracy improved.

I think we can relate this to our relationship with Christ. When we take control, and try to force our disc of life through our life course, we are going to end up far from destination, and end up off course and even in hazardous areas. It isn’t until we let go, and just let God take our disc of life and bring it to the holes, that we are going to start seeing our life Eagles/Birdies and even hole in ones. That’s not to say He isn’t going to put us in hazardous situations. He still will, but it is in these situations that we must learn to trust in Him more. If we don’t, we are going to put ourselves in a worse of situation than before.

Let’s learn to let God take our disc of life, bringing us to the destination, one hole at a time.


This week, I am planning on posting about the Ten Commandments. One a day, everyday focusing on a different commandment for the next 10 days.  We all know the Ten Commandments, but I think it is great to be reminded of them, now and then. That is the purpose of what I will be doing.


Memory Verse of the Week:

Philippians 2:3

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves,


5 thoughts on “The Disc of Life

  1. Hello Brother, Thanks for the great article.
    Proverbs 3:5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. 6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

  2. It has been crazy warm in South Dakota too! I don’t know what is going on in the midwest but I am loving it! I keep reading blogs about letting God take control, so I think God is trying to tell me something 🙂 I think it is so cool how you related taking control to playing frisbee golf. Thanks so much for sharing—I really needed to hear this today!

    1. I am absolutely loving it! The weather is suppose to be amazing all week! 🙂 That probably means He is telling you something, better listen! He has a funny way of doing stuff to us when we don’t listen. Well thanks! I am glad you did than! God Bless! 🙂

  3. I think it is suppose to be in the 60s and 70s all week here. I walked around campus without a coat today, so that was pretty awesome! I think God is definitely trying to tell me something, I better make sure and listen! God Bless!

What's on your mind?

