More Than You Think You Are

English: Finding of Moses, Bible illustration
Image via Wikipedia

Who do you inspire more to be like? Your best friend? Your significant other? Your pastor? A parent? A superhero? Someone from the bible? A professional sports player? How about yourself? Now there’s a change up. How many of us inspire to be ourselves? Why would we want to be ourselves knowing all of our weakness’ and struggles? No, must of us want to be like someone else with all their strengths. I know whenever I see someone who is inspiring, and has strong leadership, in the church, I always think to myself I wish I could be more like them!

God made us all very uniquely for a special person. I know we have all heard this before, but have you truly thought about it? The other night I was watching a movie, or tv show I can’t remember, and a mother gave birth to a child. As this scene was going on, I was thinking to myself, this is literally a child of God, like all of us. This child, like all of us, was made very special and very unique to everyone else for a purpose, chosen by God. He has his own set of strengths and weaknesses set apart from everyone else. This child was born for a reason that no one in that room knows of, only God does. I kept thinking deeper and deeper about this thought. Eventually I was reminded of the story of Joseph and Moses. How at a very early age, God put them in a position that would enable them to, when ready, use the strengths that God has given them to lead His people.

Everyone has their own unique set of strengths and weaknesses, use yours! Don’t try to be more like someone else, try to be more like you! If God wanted you to be more like John Doe, He would have made you more like John Doe, instead He made you, you! We just need to ask God to help us be us. Be who He created us for. Ask Him to guide us, step by step by step, all the way unto the end. We don’t know the destination God wants us to take with our unique set of strengths and weaknesses, so we need God to help us get us there!


Memory Verse of the Week:

Luke 6:48

He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built


4 thoughts on “More Than You Think You Are

  1. And, even at age 56, I still struggle with this at times. I think most of us do. But we really are made to be, as Matthew Kelly tells us, “the best version of ourselves” that we were created to be.

    Thanks for being obedient to that call, Joshua.

  2. It is so awesome to know God has a plan for our lives and gives us specific strengths and skills to glorify Him. I need to remember that God has purpose for my life and to not be envious of others’ skills.

    1. I know right! It is so hard not to be envious of others’s skills sometimes. But we just got to remember that is their part of the body of Christ, and we have a different part, which is just as important!

What's on your mind?

