Where’s Your Armor?

How many of you can’t wait for some break, or just time in general, to read a book or two, or more? Do you have a favorite series or author? Harry Potter? Twilight? Hunger Games? Star wars? Lord of the Rings? Ender’s Game? Max Lucado? C.S. Lewis? Why do we read these books? We read them because we love the stories, the characters in them, we want to know what happens next, get to know the characters more, and/or just love a particular author!

If we look at our relationships in life, we like to get read about all of our friends and family. We especially love to read about those closest to us, so that we can get to know them more. That is a major reason why facebook has gotten so big, it is an easy way for us to get to know all the details of our friends better.

In general, I am going to say the biggest reason we read is to obtain more information about the things closest to us (our friends, characters from a book, etc). How many of us read the bible though? If we love a person, we love to read about him or her, do we not?. If we could only bring ourselves to think of our Bible reading as an act of devotion to Christ, we might be inclined to treat the matter less lightly (Halley).

We like to read books, and blogs, about the bible. We like the spiritual high a book may give us. That is all fine and dandy, but highs don’t last. They slip away just as quickly as they come. We also like the ideas, and perspective, the author has about the bible, but it is still not the same. The Bible is the inspired Word of God, and a book by an author, is just a book by an author.

We as Christians want to defend God’s Word, but how can we properly defend it if we arn’t reading and studying it ourselves on a regular baises?

I just recently did a blog post called Starting the Day off With God. I came across something today that inspired me to write about reading the World of God. It wasn’t untill I was finished that I realized, I just wrote about this. I find this to be an important subject though. Reading God’s Word daily is the best way to achieve a closer relationship with Him. Without the Word, we cannot build our foundations on a ‘rock.’

Luke 6:48

He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built

I want to look at eight steps, provided by Henry R. Halley, of how we can make a better habit of studying the bible.

  1. Accept the Bible just as it is
  2. Read the Bible with an open mind
  3. Read the bible thoughtfully
  4. Keep a pencil at hand
  5. Habitual, systematic reading
  6. A certain ime each day
  7. Memorize the names of the Bible books
  8. Memorize favorite verses

Accept the Bible Just As It Is

Ignore all the accusations and critics of the bible. When you read the bible, know that it is God’s Word. Accept it as it is with faith

Read the Bible with an Open Mind

Be mindful of everything you are reading. Read the bible as if you have no knowledge of it before hand. Be open to new ideas that you may read upon, and search other parts of the bible that support and/or deterrent these idea’s. Think about what it all means.

Read the Bible Thoughtfully

It’s important not read the bible like you read those textbooks in high school and/or college, meaning don’t just read through them as fast as we can just to say we did it(I know I have been guilty of this a lot in school). Take thought into what you are reading. Look for new material, and be prepared to write any thing down.

Keep a Pencil at Hand

DO NOT BE AFRAID TO WRITE IN YOUR BIBLE! Keep a pencil at hand. When you come across anything interesting, write it down!

In my own personal experience, I actually read my bible across many platforms, depending on where I am, and what I am doing. I have a bible on my desk I use most often when I am at home. If I am laying in bed, I tend to use my iPad bible app to read. When I am at work, and sometimes even in the car, I read on my phone on my bible app. When I am at school, I tend to read on my laptop, but if it is ever dead, I carry an extra bible in my backpack just in case. So writing things down in one bible is pretty much impossible for me. What I do is carry a binder with me. I absolutely love this binder, and I suggest everyone to do something like it. In my binder I have it divided into sections. The first section is all my prayer requests(you can add your prayer request, found on my prayer request page), this section grows the most rapidly! I have a second section for my favorite bible passages that I come across. A third section for all those verses that absolutely confuse me. This section was the original purpose of my binder. Any questions I have about the scriptures, I just write them down. As for now, I am working on trying to answer them myself by reading the bible with an open mind and finding other scriptures that relates to it. In the binder, I have a fourth section on how I want to serve the Lord as I grow older. The last section is about any other notes that I want to take about the bible.

Any who, the point is make sure you write things down. Writing down what you read is proven to help your memory, and it gives you the ability to think deeper about what you are reading.

Habitual, Systematic Reading and a Certain Time Each Day

Read the bible everyday as a habit. The easiest way to do this is to set a certain time each day and just give it to the Lord (after all, for all He does for us, He does deserve some of our time). If you could just set one time a day, whether that be morning, afternoon, or night, it would make all the difference in the world.

In my own personal experience, I have three, set, times with the Lord. The first thing I do when I wake up is read. On my bible app, I have a daily reading list that I am subscribed to(BTW for those looking for a while to stay motivated reading, subscribing to a daily reading plan is my personal favorite to keep motivated everyday). The reading list takes about 15-20 minutes and it is designed to read through the whole bible in one year. The second set time I read isn’t more so a set time, as it is time I make fit into my day where ever easiest. This second set time I spend an hour reading/praying. I use it to take my time reading and write down anything and everything that I fell the need to. This time is also spent looking at the bible, from sources outside of the bible (usually reading blogs, or watching videos). Occasionally this time has been used to just praise Him through songs of praise. The third set time of reading is when I go to bed. The last thing I do before I go to bed is read one chapter of either Proverbs or Ecclesiastics (Depending on where I am at). This I find is the greatest way to learn wisdom without the experience of “learning from experience.”

Above I did suggest for you to read one time a day, but I really encourage you to read twice a day. At one point of the day, read as much as you can about the bible, while still paying as much attention as possible and not worry about the stuff you don’t understand. And a second time in the day where you read only a little bit, but you reflex deeply upon what you read. This way you can still get the picture of the whole bible in your head fresh, as well as looking at individual parts in much depth.

Getting together a group for bible study is another great way to keep you reading, even if it is only two of you once a week.

Memorize the Names of the Bible Books

It is really really important to be able to identify where each book of the bible is, and what kind of book it is. Know the Old Testament from New Testament. And know the Historical Books of Old Testament, Poetic Books, Prophetic Books (Both large and minor) of Old Testament, Historical Books of New Testament, Letters, and the Prophetic Books of Large Testament.

Memorize Favorite Verses

Learning and knowing God’s Word is how we become stronger. The more verse’s we have memorized the more equipped we are in the Mission Field. Every week I do my best at memorizing one verse, you can always find it at the bottom of my blogs, or on the Weekly Memory Verse page.

To sum it all up, read the bible daily. Without God’s Word to protect us daily, we loose our armor and become vulnerable to the devil.


Memory Verse of the Week:

Luke 6:48

He is like a man building a house, who dug down deep and laid the foundation on rock. When a flood came, the torrent struck that house but could not shake it, because it was well built


Halley, Henry H. “The Habit Of Bible Reading.” Halley’s Bible Handbook: Deluxe Edition. 25th ed. Grand Rapids, Michigan: Halley’s Bible Handbook, 2000, 2007. 20-21. Print.

3 thoughts on “Where’s Your Armor?

  1. Such great tips! I use to be afraid to write in my Bible, but now I have little notes written all over my Bible. When I am at church or a Bible study, I also bring a little journal because it helps me comprehend the lesson more. The next thing I want to accomplish is memorizing some verses!

    1. Thanks! In school I was forced to write and highlight all over my bibles. I went through so many of them!… Journals are great for helping you comprehend more! Well than start! You can start either by participating with me and memorizing the verses I put up, you can go on your own, or you can use a website that puts up verses to memorize! Take care and God’s blessings! 🙂

      1. I hope I have the problem of going through tons of Bibles someday:) Thanks for challenging others to get into the God’s Word and memorize verses! Today is the day I start memorizing some verses. God Bless!

What's on your mind?

