Lents Moment of Evangelizing

I’m a little late on this post, but it still applies. It’s that time of year again, Lent. Time to give up something for 40 days (Which is actually 46). What shall I give up?

While going to a public university it is very encouraging for me to hear so many students talking about Lent and what they are giving up. It creates a great conversation with them. Just the other day, I took advantage of someone who was talking about what he is giving up for lent. I asked him what he is giving up and he told me “Oh, I’m not sure, probably pop, and I think I am suppose to give up meat. I’m not sure.” I asked him if he was a Catholic and he says “Yeah I think something like that. I don’t even know my own religion and what I’m suppose to do.” This really got me thinking to believe that everyone is giving up stuff for Lent is completely missing the point and is wasting their time. They are like the Lost Sheep that have gone astray.

In the past I have never given up anything for Lent because I never understood why, no one ever explained it to me. I am not one to follow church customs unless someone has explained to me the reason why. This year I finally, through research, understand the reason to why people choose to give up things for lent. There are two reasons I have found. The first is to give up something you need so that you are forced to trust that Christ will provide for you. The second reason is to give up something is so that you can substitute the time doing whatever it is you are giving up, and giving that time to the Lord.

The 40 days of lent, not including sundays, is suppose to represent Christs 40 days in the wilderness where He was tempted my the devil. It is suppose to bring us closer to Him and prepare us for His resurrection, Easter.

I believe to many people are uneducated about Lent, including myself. When we hear people talking about Lent and what they are giving up, I encourage you to use that time to share with them more about Jesus. It is one of the easiest ways to share Jesus with strangers during this time of the year.


Memory Verse of the Week:

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.


What's on your mind?

