What’s Your Vice?

vice

  1. an immoral or evil habit or practice.
  2. immoral conduct; depraved or degrading behavior: a life of vice.
  3. sexual immorality, especially prostitution.
  4. a particular form of depravity.
  5. a fault, defect, or shortcoming: a minor vice in his literary style.

According to dictionary.com that ^ is the definition of a vice. I want to add one more definition to vice.

6. The action or desire that separates you from God

What’s Your Vice?

We all have many vices, all of the seven deadly sins, but there is one or two that really gets at you. It can be sexuality, lust, money, pride, smoking, alcohol, greed, anger, jealousy, laziness, and etc. If you don’t know yours, it is important for you to figure it out so that you may be able to admit your weakness to God so He can hold you up. In our weakness, He is strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

My Vice

As for me it’s spending money. If I see something I want, and I can’t say no, if I have the money. If I don’t have money, I could care less about buying anything. But as soon as I get money, I tend to start to obsess over spending it. It controls me. I line between what I need, and what I want disappears. It’s hard. When I have no money, it becomes very easy. It is at that point I can easily decipher between what I need and don’t, I can easily say no to the most tempting of things to buy. As soon as I get money, it all changes. I become a slave to the lust of earthly objects.

Matthew 6:21

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

My treasure becomes earthly objects, and there my heart lies. It disappears form God, and goes to this lust of, to put in its truest form, dust.

Time for Change

In order to fix your vice, you must be able to identify it and accept it. Once you have down so, give it God. Let Him do the work and ‘Be Still.’ God can carry you through anything.

I would like to encourage anyone to comment below about their own vice. Let others know that they aren’t the only ones struggling with their vice, no one is alone.

Dear Heavenly Father, please be with our weaknesses and in our weakness, be our strength. Help us to seek you and keep you as our treasure. Thanks for all that you have done. Amen.


Memory Verse of the Week:

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.


What's on your mind?

