Submit You Ways to the Lord

Last night I was reading through Proverbs, and this particular set of verses really hit me, yes I have heard them before, and yes you have heard them before, but this time they really hit me.

Proverbs 3:5-6

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

In the past, I never put the two verses together, I always viewed them as separate verses unrelated to each other. When they are put together, the power behind them is much more impactful! Let’s look at them separately first, and than combine them

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding

As easy as this sounds, I find myself leaning on my own understanding telling myself I can’t do this or that, for whatever reason(s). We all have our excuses, sometimes we blame our history saying this is what always happens, and therefore always will. I don’t want to use any specific examples, but we all got things on our mind that we want to do, but we feel we can’t because of whatever reason. This verse speaks against that! It’s telling you not to lean on your own understanding, don’t let excuses get in the way, don’t let how you think bring you down. Just trust in the Lord! It doesn’t matter how screwed up, how hopeless we might feel, just trust in the Lord.

in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight

I like this a lot! Just submit your plans to Him, and He will bring you to your destination. However, this is where a lot of people can go wrong and lose their faith. There are a handful of verses like this that tell us just to commit our plans to Him, and we will succeed. What we often find our self doing than is giving Him our plans and expecting them to succeed. Once we realize our plans aren’t going through, we start quoting scripture out at God in our prayers, like He doesn’t know what the bible says (funny thought). Once our plans don’t go through and something else all together happens, we feel extremely discouraged and we lose our trust, and began to doubt, a lot. Why won’t God do what I asked of Him, it says in the bible He would. Does He not love me? Does He not care? Is he busy doing other things? Am I unimportant? Is what the bible says really true? We have all been and felt this discouragement. We need to learn to not take this verse out of context with the bible as a whole.

1 Corinthians 10:31

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Colossians 3:17

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

There is another verse that hits the point I want to make exactly, but I can not remember it. The point is, whatever we do, we must do it for the Lord. Whatever we ask for in pray, it must ultimately be for the Lord. The Lord knows our thoughts, and the Lord knows how what we are asking for is going to affect our lives. If what we ask for doesn’t please Him, separates you, or He knows there is a better option, He probably isn’t going to give it to us. So when we ask of something before the Lord, check your motives. Make sure it is pleasing to Him, and you are asking for the right reasons.

What We Learn From the Two Verses

Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
and he will make your paths straight.

I like to take these verses and switch the lines around and add in a line.

In all your ways submit to Him,
Make your ways pleasing to Him.
And lean not on your own understanding;
Trust in the LORD with all your heart
And he will make your paths straight

I just love to know that if I submit my ways to Jesus, making sure they are pleasing to Him, knowing that my understanding of His will is damaged, so I have to trust in Him, and He will make my paths straight. Trust in God to give me what I truly want and need.


Memory Verse of the Week:
1 Timothy 4:12

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith and in purity.

6 thoughts on “Submit You Ways to the Lord

  1. I am sorry that this post may have changed the train of my thought proceses quickly. I started writing it a week ago, and didn’t get to finish it today due to being busy. But I wanted to make sure I still posted it, despite not having my original thought process.

What's on your mind?

