What do you want to be known for? A pickle lover?

So I haven’t wrote in a while, and a few people have brought that to my attention. I have been so busy doing what I am doing, I have had no time to figure out what I am doing with my life. I want to plan my life out and know what I want to do. For people my age, the questions we burden ourselves with are:

  • “What do I want to do?”
  • “What do I want to major in?”
  • “When am I going to have a family?”
  • “Am I doing what I really want to do?”
  • And so on..

We get so caught up in the questions, I know I most certainly do and it is stressing me out. However, I am not going to write about these questions. Instead I want to challenge you to a different question, one that is more important these. What do you want to be known for?

Lets look at some famous people. What comes to mind when you think of Adolf Hitler, Abraham Lincoln, Lucifer(The Devil), Martin Luther King Jr, and Charles Manson? With each person you associate a different set of feelings and emotions. Some positive, and some negative. Now again lets look at some people in your life. Who has impacted you the most in your life, and how do you remember them? Was it a pastor, a youth pastor, a teacher, a coach, a family member, a friend? Who impacted you and inspired you to become who you are today? (Please say a short prayer for these people, where would we be without them? – Lost)

So now back to the question, what do you want to be known for? As for me, I want to be known as the person who loves Jesus, but more than just that, I want be viewed as a Godly character. I want people to see Jesus, through me. I want people to think “Oh yeah that Josh kid, he sure had a passion for Christ. He has been a great christian leader. He inspired me to be who I am, and to have a closer relationship with Christ.” Maybe for you, you want to the friend that can always be counted on, or the one with great advice. Whatever it is, do it!

The question I want to leave you with is this, if you were to die today what would you be known for? Would people know you as a christian? or would they only know you because you loved pickles. “Oh yeah that (your name here), he/she sure liked pickles.” 

  • What do you want to be known for?
  • How will you strive to achieve others to know you for (insert what you want to be known for)
  • If you were to die today, what would you be known for?
7 thoughts on “What do you want to be known for? A pickle lover?

  1. Joshua,

    It is awesome that you consider these issues at this point in your life. Thanks be to God!

    It just so happens that another WP faith blogger – Mark Mathia (http://markmathia.com/) helps people create a life plan. Perhaps you two could talk? I know Mark only through blog comment exchanges, but I appreciate his perspective and he seems like a cool guy.

    1. Cinhosa,

      Yes, Thanks be to God! Without Him in my life I would be such a mess!

      I just looked into Mark Mathia, and I do agree, and think he does have a great perspective. I looked further into his WP page and found his link to a free ebook about creating a life plan, as well as a planning template.

      I very much appreciate this! Thank you very much!

      God Bless

  2. Wow…you guys Rock! Joshua you are well on your way and I loved your post. As a fellow pickle lover who is passionate about Jesus I am thrilled to see just how he intertwines His peeps for His purposes. Good luck with the life plan and know that I am at your service if you should have any questions.

What's on your mind?

