In His Time

Journal Entry: January 16th 2:55pm

So far today I have been doing a lot of thinking, reading and praying. Trying to find ways to become closer to God, to make my life reflex Him. I have been trying to figure out what I need to remove from my life and what to replace it with so that I may become closer in my relationship with Jesus. What I realized was that I am stressing myself out trying to become closer to Him. I also end up once again trying to control my life and not letting the Lord take control. I know God doesn’t want that. So what am I doing wrong? I thought and prayed over it all again, and I believe what I am trying to do is ultimately unhealthy. I have my heart in the right place, but the wrong idea of how to live. Yes I want to give my life to Jesus and yes I want everything I do to reflex Him, but if I am trying to eliminate everything in my life that that can distract me from Jesus I end up doing two things. The first is I end up becoming my own distraction, and secondly I separate my life into two categories, Jesus and non Jesus. This is the unhealthy part.

1 Corinthians 10:31

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Paul is telling us whatever we do, just do it for the Glory of God. He isn’t telling us to eliminate anything in our life that can distract us, He is telling us that use whatever may distract us to give Glory to God through it. The easiest example of this(but not the best), lets say you watch a lot of tv and you have a few favorite tv shows. You often than have small circles with other people who like these same tv shows. Now you can use this area of interest to share the Gospel with these peoples. However I am not sure I agree with tv example completely but we can use that example and apply it to sports, social networking, cell phones, video games, music, hobbies, passions and etc. This allows us to find areas that we can share the Gospel with others.

Romans 8:28

“We know that all things work for good for those who love God, who are called according to his purpose”

1 Corinthians 9:19-23

Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

Paul finds similarities in all people so that he can share the Gospel with them and might save them. In reading this it makes me only want to change one thing of my life, rather than changing everything in my life like I did before. I want to keep living my life like I do, and use my interests to share the Gospel with everyone. In a sense I should just focus on me, but yet while focusing on me, I should share the Gospel message with those around me. I need to not call my distractions ‘distractions’ but rather as a way to Spread God’s Word. Involve God with everything I do, and trust Him to provide me with all the right options.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

What I am going to try to do now is, instead of trying to control what I do and planning our how I can be closer to God and share His word, I am just going to trust He will take care of that. He knows my plans. He has complete control. I just need to relax and trust He will guide me and use me in His time.

What's on your mind?

