Fighting for Jesus

Journal Entry: January 16th, 2012

This morning I woke up with so many things on my mind. Wondering who am I going to text? What am I going to blog about? What’s on facebook? What homework do I need to do? When am I going to watch the next episode of Supernatural, and how many episodes will I watch today? How am I going to study for Anatomy? Am I ready for my math test coming up? What am I doing this week? How am I going to going to do the things I need to do? And this list goes on. Everything was on my mind. Well everything but one thing, and that was Jesus.

I started the morning off with my usual facebook checkups and a status message, read a few chapters from the bible, and decided to check when the next sermon was online for live.lifechurch.tv was online. I saw it was in 45 mins, which was perfect because than I could watch an episode of Supernatural before hand so I did. Once Supernatural was finished, church online just started streaming this sundays sermon. Craig Groeschel is doing a series called “better.” It is all about bettering ourselves with Christ, how we can start the new year off with a closer relationship with Jesus making ‘better’ decisions. Today’s sermon topic was based off of Ecclesiastes 4:6

Better one handful with tranquillity
than two handfuls with toil
and chasing after the wind.

I’ve read this verse many times, but never have I thought twice about it. Craig really brought this verse to life to me today. I am spending to much of my time holding onto stress and things I need to do with both of my hands while chasing after it all in the wind, which is a funny thought. Can I really catch the wind? It is an endless chase, and that is what this verse is getting at. It is better to have one hand with tranquillity, to be still or quiet, and have one hand free, than to be chasing after the wind of earthly desires. It sounds like common sense to me, but yet I find myself with two handfuls with toil chasing after the wind. Everything that was on my mind before that was distractions, they were causing me stress by chasing after the wind.

Further into the sermon Craig was giving he had two subpoints

1)Let go of what does not matter

2) Fight for what does matter

This made me realize there is to much stuff in my life that doesn’t matter but yet I fight to keep it there. Why do I let myself become distracted. On top of that, I hardly fight at all for what does matter. In the back of my head I do want to do everything pleasing for the Lord, but if a distraction comes up I let it overcome me, and end up putting Jesus second to it. I tell myself I have to do this, that and the other thing, and than IF I have time left over I will do this to strengthen my relationship with Jesus. Thinking about that really made me disappointed in myself. Jesus died for me and gave me everything, He put me first! Thinking about Jesus praying in the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus was scared to suffer hell for us, He didn’t want to do it but yet He still did

Mark 14:32-42

 And he went forward a little, and fell on the ground, and prayed that, if it were possible, the hour might pass from him. 36 And he said, Abba, Father, all things are possible unto thee; take away this cup from me: nevertheless not what I will, but what thou wilt.

This shocks me. It makes me think of everything the Lord has put before me but yet I didn’t do it cause I didn’t have time or I didn’t want to. If Jesus had the same mentality as me, He would have told God “Sorry Father, but I will not die on the cross, instead I want to keep witnessing to the people.” Which is another point Craig made, “You have to say no to good things, to say yes to the best things.” If Jesus would have been like me, we would have no hope, but He is not so we do.

After the sermon was over I have decided to turn off all distractions today. I took the battery out of my phone and put it away, I turned off facebook, gave my iPad to my cousin, put away all my school work, and I have decided to just give myself to the Lord today. I am going to fight for what does matter. I know there is stuff I ‘have’ to do, maybe even ‘need’ to do, but in all reality how important are they to what really matters, Jesus? The answer is, they are not important. Jesus promises me He will be with me and provide for me, I just need to trust in Him. I have always preached that to people and followed it a degree, but never ever have I truly put Jesus in charge in my life. This week I am going to start doing that, starting with today by spending the whole day in the Word.

3 thoughts on “Fighting for Jesus

  1. I love the points…
    1)Let go of what does not matter

    2) Fight for what does matter
    There are many times when I’m fighting for things that don’t matter and aren’t helping me out in my relationship with Christ! I’m going to hang them in my classroom and at home! : )

What's on your mind?

