Dance

The last few days I had planned to write about New Years resolutions today(Jan 1st). Write about how instead of looking for earthly resolutions that just we just lose track of in time, that we should just simply focus on keeping our eyes on Jesus. However as I was pulling up my wordpress blog, the song ‘Dance” by the Newsboys came on, and a phrase of words from that song caught my attention. First off if you haven’t heard the song, I recomend you listen to it quick on youtube.

These words really caught my attention:

Dance like no one is looking
Sing like no one can hear
Love like you’ve never hurt before
Live like there’s nothing to fear

I was thinking about them words, and what they really mean, as well as where I can find each of them lines in the bible, and how it strengthen my relation with Him. So lets look at it one line at a time.
Dance like no one is looking
If we look in 2 Samuel Chapter 6 we find
….[Michal] saw King David leaping and dancing before the LORD….
…[Michal said]How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, going around half-naked in full view of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!
…[David, in response, said] I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes
This is the kind of dancing the song is talking about! David is rejoicing before the Lord! I try to think of myself as doing such a thing but it seems like such a preposterous thing to do! But is it, is it really? God has given us everything we have ever needed and more. He went so far as to have His Son suffer hell for us! Yet we constantly disobey His will. We constantly set ourselves apart from Him. But He is always there just waiting for us to ask for Him back! I guess the sound of a love so great as that really does make you just want to dance!
Sing like no one can hear
Singing can be found all over the bible, most oftenly in use of praise to our Lord. I want to look specially in Acts 16:
About midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns to God, and the other prisoners were listening to them. Suddenly there was such a violent earthquake that the foundations of the prison were shaken. At once all the prison doors flew open, and everyone’s chains came loose. The jailer woke up, and when he saw the prison doors open, he drew his sword and was about to kill himself because he thought the prisoners had escaped. But Paul shouted, “Don’t harm yourself! We are all here!”
Looking at these verses and in their context, Paul and Silas are in imprisonment because of their commitment in following the ways of the Lord rather than the people of the town, as well as casting out a spirit from a woman from the town, that was being used to make money by predicting peoples future. In short, because of their faith, they have been punished. While they are in jail, instead of being a normal person and complaining to the Lord about being in jail, asking why me, and even questioning ones own faith, these to men sing to the Lord! This singing to the Lord proved to be so powerful, that God freed them from the prison!
Love like you’ve never hurt before
When we sin, we hurt our Father in Heaven. We tell Him that we have more important things than Him. Despite how much we hurt Him, He still loves us the same. In Romans 5:8 it says,
but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
The Lord loves us, a lot! We continue to sin daily against Him though, no matter how much we tell Him “Not now Lord,” “I’d rather do this,” “I don’t think that will work for me Lord,” “I don’t need you,” “You’re not powerful enough,” and so on, He is still right there for us. He still loves us just the same throughout all of it. Yet, if someone one thing wrong to us, we throw a fit, and have a hard time trusting in them and being their friend. Jesus told us to love our enemies though, as found in Matthew 5:44,
But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,
So lets learn to love all those who persecute us, after all it is through their persecution that we have to learn to lean on God more, and trust in Him. For that, I can do nothing but showing love and thanking those who persecute me! Besides, what better revenge is there than showing some love?
Live like there’s nothing to fear
The last line of this phrase of words, is what ties them all together. Live like there is nothing to fear. This means to Dance, Sing, and Love for the Lord, and be even more undignified than that!
Romans 8:31
What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?
Psalm 118:6
The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?
With the Lord by our side, we have nothing to fear! Let’s live like there is nothing to fear!
Exodus 15:2
The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.
With that in mind, lets do what the song says!
  • Dance like no one is looking
  • Sing like no one can hear
  • Love like you’ve never hurt before
  • Live like there’s nothing to fear
4 thoughts on “Dance

  1. This is lovely!
    I love the Newsboys and your blog is beautiful. I love the way you write about Jesus and how clear your passion is. Thank you for sharing!

  2. The Newsboys are great! I loved them when Peter was still the main vocalist! But thanks that is much appreciated! A lot of that has to do with the book ‘Crazy Love’ by Francis Chan. I definitely recommend that book to anyone, and from reading your ‘about me’ I think you would enjoy the read! 🙂

What's on your mind?

