Come Lord Jesus

At dinner tonight as my family was reciting, note I say reciting and not praying, I was thinking about the meaning behind the words and it really hit me. I have often done this, but this time I realized I had never looked into the first line of the prayer before. It amazed me, and made me super excited. I now want to take a look at and go through all the parts of this prayer.
Come Lord Jesus, be our guest,
let these gifts to us be blessed,
O’ give thanks unto the Lord,
for His mercy endures forever.
Amen

Come Lord Jesus, be our guest
When I had realized what we asked here, I became ecstatic! Jesus is sitting here with me and my family at the dinner table! Wow, this is quite a blessing and honor! I can’t believe my Savior is sitting here with me! It’s an overwhelming experience. I thought about it a bit longer, and realized I should always have this kind of excitement because the Holy Spirit lives in me, my body, our body, is the Spirits place of dwelling. Jesus says in Luke 16:7

“But very truly I tell you, it is for your good that I am going away. Unless I go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you

Awesome promise of the Holy Spirit. This means that it is better for us to have the Holy Spirit within us spiritually, then to have Jesus here in physical form. That is an awesome promise. The Holy Spirit is always with us, dwelling in us. We as christians need to learn to rely on It wholeheartedly. This really makes me excited! I’m glad God sent the Spirit to live in me. Without It, I would be lost.

Let these gifts to us be blessed
I like these words. It is saying that the food in front of us, is a gift. I like to think of it as a gift from God. A reminder that God is always there providing for us, like He promises in Matthew 6
…Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life

What we receive is all gifts from the Lord. He has the power to give and to take away. We have nothing to worry for because Jesus will take care of us. Looking into Matthew 6 a little more

 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

All we must do is focus our eyes onto Jesus and seek out His ways, and He will provide us with everything we need. What another wonderful promise!

O’ give thanks unto the Lord
In all we do we should give thanks to Him! After all He did create us. It says in 1 Thessalonians 5:18
give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus
Weather in good or bad, we should always be giving thanks to our Lord. Everything we have has been given to us by Him, so lets give Him thanks.
 For His mercy endures forever.
For this section, I will let Psalm 136 speak for itself.

1 Oh, give thanks to the LORD, for He is good!
For His mercy endures forever. 2
Oh, give thanks to the God of gods!
For His mercy endures forever. 3
Oh, give thanks to the Lord of lords!
For His mercy endures forever:
4 To Him who alone does great wonders,
For His mercy endures forever;
5 To Him who by wisdom made the heavens,
For His mercy endures forever;
6 To Him who laid out the earth above the waters,
For His mercy endures forever;
7 To Him who made great lights,
For His mercy endures forever—
8 The sun to rule by day,
For His mercy endures forever;
9 The moon and stars to rule by night,
For His mercy endures forever.

10 To Him who struck Egypt in their firstborn,
For His mercy endures forever;
11 And brought out Israel from among them,
For His mercy endures forever;
12 With a strong hand, and with an outstretched arm,
For His mercy endures forever;
13 To Him who divided the Red Sea in two,
For His mercy endures forever;
14 And made Israel pass through the midst of it,
For His mercy endures forever;
15 But overthrew Pharaoh and his army in the Red Sea,
For His mercy endures forever;
16 To Him who led His people through the wilderness,
For His mercy endures forever;
17 To Him who struck down great kings,
For His mercy endures forever;
18 And slew famous kings,
For His mercy endures forever—
19 Sihon king of the Amorites,
For His mercy endures forever;
20 And Og king of Bashan,
For His mercy endures forever—
21 And gave their land as a heritage,
For His mercy endures forever;
22 A heritage to Israel His servant,
For His mercy endures forever.

23 Who remembered us in our lowly state,
For His mercy endures forever;
24 And rescued us from our enemies,
For His mercy endures forever;
25 Who gives food to all flesh,
For His mercy endures forever.

26 Oh, give thanks to the God of heaven!
For His mercy endures forever.

Amen

What's on your mind?

